All the Exhibitions
Jan Groover, Untitled, ca. 1978 © Photo Elysée - Fonds Jan Groover
Jan Groover, Untitled, ca.1981 © Photo Elysée - Fonds Jan Groover

Jan Groover

Laboratory of Forms

November 8, 2022 - February 12, 2023

Exhibition

Born in the United States, singular artist Jan Groover (1943-2012) played a significant role in the appreciation of color photography. In the first retrospective since her death in 2012, the exhibition shows the development of Groover’s work, from original polyptychs to still lifes she produced throughout her career. Thanks to a donation from the Jan Groover archives at Photo Elysée (Lausanne) in 2017, the exhibition, shown in Lausanne in 2019, pays tribute to an artist who constantly reinvented herself, thus leaving her mark on the history of photography. 

Jan Groover took up photography as a sort of challenge. Noting that “photography wasn’t taken seriously” in the United States in the 1960s, she distanced herself from abstract painting, which she’d previously studied. In 1967, Groover bought her first camera in what she described as her “first adult decision.” Her fondness for abstraction and the pictorial can already be seen in her first series of polyptychs, where the subject is multiplied, divided, or hidden behind opaque forms to the point of negation. 

Starting in the late 1970s, Groover turned to the still life, a traditional genre in pictorial art, experimenting with it until the end of her life through impressively diverse subjects, formats and techniques. At a time when documentary photography was at the forefront in magazines like LIFE, Groover applied her background in painting to photography, giving abstract photography due credit by creating images for the sake of form, far from signification and statement. On top of her still lifes, Groover also produced series on freeways, portraits, and Body Parts.  

As an actor in rendering the photographic medium more versatile—a property then attributed to painting and drawing—Groover explored different creative techniques, as in the use of platinum and palladium prints for her urban series and portraits of close friends (John Coplans or Janet Borden, with whom she was in constant intellectual dialogue).

In Jan Groover. Laboratory of Forms, color and black-and-white vintage prints are presented, along with the artist’s work materials (polaroids, notebooks, etc.). The exhibition explores Groover’s artistic process and gives us insight into the experimental nature of her work and her influence on modern photography.

Exhibition curators
Tatyana Franck, President of the French Institute Alliance Française in New York, former director of Photo Elysée
Emilie Delcambre Hirsch
Agnès Sire, Artistic director, for the Paris version

Scientific advisor
Paul Frèches

Production
An exhibition produced by Photo Elysée, Lausanne.

Biography

Born on April 24, 1943, in Plainfield, New Jersey, Jan Groover first studied abstract painting at the Pratt Institute in New York before taking up photography, with the purchase of her first camera in the early 1970s. This marked the beginning of a diverse career made of polyptychs, series of shots of the same location, portraits and still lifes (a recurring theme of her art). In 1970, she earned a Master’s in Art Education from Ohio State University, Columbus. She then moved to New York with her partner, painter and art critic Bruce Boice. 

In New York, a center of contemporary art, she gradually gained recognition on the art scene and experimented with other techniques in photography, like platinum/palladium prints. 

In 1974, the Light Gallery put on her first solo exhibition, and in 1978 she received a grant from the federal agency National Endowment for the Arts. As a respected teacher at Purchase College, she taught photographers Gregory Crewdson, Laurie Simmons and Philip-Lorca diCorcia, for a few. 

In 1987, the New York Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) held a retrospective on Groover’s work.

The Groover-Boice couple turned in this way on the New York art scene until 1991, the year they settled in the Dordogne region of France. Groover continued her series of still lifes despite falling ill in 1998. The couple gained French nationality in 2005. Jan Groover passed away a few years later, on January 1st, 2012. 

Thanks to Bruce Boice’s donation, Photo Elysée in Lausanne was able to expand its collection with the archive of Jan Groover, including a great majority of her work as well as unpublished archival material from her studio. The museum ensures the conservation, study and distribution of the archive.

Toutes les Expositions
Jan Groover, Sans titre, ca.1978 © Photo Elysée - Fonds Jan Groover
Jan Groover, Sans titre, ca.1981 © Photo Elysée - Fonds Jan Groover

Jan Groover

Laboratoire des formes

du 8 novembre 2022 au 12 février 2023

Exposition

Artiste singulière, Jan Groover (1943-2012), d’origine américaine, a eu un impact considérable sur la reconnaissance de la photographie couleur. Cette exposition, première rétrospective à lui être consacrée depuis sa mort en 2012, donne à voir l’évolution de son œuvre, de ses polyptyques originels aux natures mortes qu’elle réalisera toute sa vie. Grâce à la donation des archives de Jan Groover à Photo Elysée (Lausanne) en 2017, cette exposition, présentée en 2019 à Lausanne, rend hommage à une artiste qui s’est en permanence renouvelée, s’inscrivant ainsi dans l’histoire de la photographie.  

Jan Groover a commencé la photographie comme par défi. Constatant que « la photographie n’était pas prise au sérieux » aux États-Unis dans les années 1960, elle s’éloigne de la peinture abstraite, qu’elle a étudiée. En 1967, Jan Groover achète son premier appareil photo, ce qu’elle qualifie comme étant son « premier acte d’adulte ». Son goût pour l’abstraction et la picturalité se retrouve cependant dès ses premières séries de polyptiques dont le sujet est démultiplié, fractionné ou caché derrière des formes opaques, jusqu’à être nié.

À partir de la fin des années 1970, Jan Groover se tourne vers la nature morte, genre classique des arts picturaux, qu’elle explore jusqu’à la fin de sa vie par une diversité exceptionnelle de sujets, de formats et de procédés. Alors que la photographie documentaire est à l’honneur dans des magazines tels que LIFE, Jan Groover met à profit ses connaissances en peinture dans son travail photographique et contribue ainsi à donner à la photographie abstraite ses lettres de noblesse, produisant des clichés pour le plaisir des formes, loin de tout sens ou revendications. En plus des natures mortes, le travail de Jan Groover intègre également des séries sur le thème des autoroutes, du portrait et des fragments de corps (Body Parts).

Actrice de la mutation du médium photographique vers plus de polyvalence, qualité jusqu’alors attribuée à la peinture ou au dessin, Jan Groover expérimente différentes techniques de création. Par exemple, l’usage du tirage au platine et au palladium pour ses séries de clichés urbains ou les portraits de ses proches, comme John Coplans ou Janet Borden avec qui elle est en constant dialogue intellectuel.

L’exposition Jan Groover. Laboratoire des formes présente des épreuves vintage en couleur et en noir et blanc, ainsi que des documents de travail de la photographe (polaroids, carnets préparatoires, etc.), permettant de découvrir ses méthodes de création et d’apprécier plus amplement le caractère expérimental de son travail ainsi que son influence sur la photographie contemporaine.

Commissaires de l’exposition
Tatyana Franck, présidente du French Institute Alliance Française à New York, ancienne directrice de Photo Elysée
Emilie Delcambre Hirsch
Agnès Sire, directrice artistique, pour la présentation de l’exposition à la Fondation HCB

Conseiller scientifique
Paul Frèches

Production
Une exposition produite par Photo Elysée, Lausanne.

Biographie

Jan Groover naît le 24 avril 1943 à Plainfield, New Jersey aux États-Unis. Elle étudie d’abord la peinture abstraite au Pratt Institute à New York et se lance dans la photographie en achetant son premier appareil à l’aube des années 1970. Commence alors une production variée, faite de polyptyques, de séries de prises de vue d’un même lieu, de portraits et de natures mortes, un thème récurrent de sa carrière. En 1970, Jan Groover obtient un master en éducation artistique à l’Ohio State University, Columbus. Elle s’installe par la suite à New York avec son compagnon, le peintre et critique d’art Bruce Boice. 

C’est dans cette ville, centre de la création contemporaine, qu’elle gagne peu à peu la reconnaissance du milieu et expérimente d’autres techniques photographiques, comme le tirage au platine et au palladium. 

En 1974, la Light Gallery accueille sa première exposition personnelle et elle obtient en 1978 une bourse de l’agence fédérale de la National Endowment for the Arts. Enseignante respectée au Purchase College, elle y forme notamment les photographes Gregory Crewdson, Laurie Simmons et Philip-Lorca diCorcia. 

En 1987, le Museum of Modern Art de New York (MoMA) consacre une exposition rétrospective à l’œuvre de Jan Groover.

Le couple Groover-Boice gravite ainsi dans le milieu de l’art new-yorkais jusqu’en 1991, année de leur installation définitive en France, en Dordogne. Jan Groover y continue ses séries de natures mortes, malgré la maladie qui se déclare en 1998. Le couple obtient la nationalité française en 2005. Jan Groover décède quelques années plus tard, le 1er janvier 2012. 

Grâce à la donation de Bruce Boice, Photo Elysée, à Lausanne,  a pu enrichir sa collection du fonds Jan Groover, composé de la grande majorité de sa production mais également d’archives inédites tirées de son atelier personnel. Le musée en assure la conservation, l’étude et la diffusion.

__

Avec le soutien de