Henri Cartier-Bresson, Paris, France, 1992 © Martine Franck / Magnum Photos

FAQ

THE FOUNDATION

How is the Fondation HCB financed?
The Fondation HCB has been recognized by the French Government as being for public benefit but it is a privately financed institution. The Fondation depends on private funding to continue restoring its collection, to organize high-quality exhibitions and to publish catalogues.

Are the collections open for research? How can one consult them?
Individuals may consult the Fondation’s collection for research purposes by taking an appointment with the archival department. The majority of the HCB and Martine Franck archives can be viewed on the Magnum website:
www.magnumphotos.com

Are there other museums neighboring the Fondation HCB?
Yes, in the Marais you can visit the Musée Picasso, the Centre Pompidou, the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature, the Musée d’Art et d’Histoire du Judaïsme, the Musée Cognacq-Jay, the Archives Nationales, the Maison Européenne de la Photographie (amongst others).

What HCB and Martine Franck derived merchandise is available for sale?
HCB and Martine Franck were against using their names and their works for commercial purposes. However, there are a number of books, catalogues, postcards and magnets available for purchase.

 

HENRI CARTIER-BRESSON

What is the connection between HCB and Magnum?
Henri Cartier-Bresson founded Magnum Photos in 1947 with Robert Capa, David Seymour (Chim) and George Rodger. HCB was no longer a voting member of Magnum since 1965, however his photographs are still distributed by Magnum Photos. You can view the HCB archive on the Magnum Photos website: www.magnumphotos.com

What works of HCB and Martine Franck are visible at the Fondation HCB?
The prints of the Collections are not always presented at the Fondation. The Fondation uses its collections for temporary exhibitions on HCB and Martine Franck. Please see consult the Fondation’s program for more details.

 

THE HCB AWARD

Does the Fondation HCB give grants?
The Fondation gives the HCB Award every other year. The HCB Award is an amount of 35 000€. The Fondation d’entreprise Hermès is the patron of the HCB Award.

How does one apply for the HCB Award?
By downloading the application form on this site.

 

PRINTS AND USE OF IMAGES

How can one publish an HCB – Martine Franck photograph?
For any use, please contact Magnum Photos : www.magnumphotos.com

Does the Fondation sell HCB or Martine Franck prints?
Where one purchase signed prints of HCB or Martine Franck photographs?
The Fondation does not sell HCB or Martine Franck prints. However if you wish to acquire an HCB or Martine Franck print, please contact: aude.raimbault@henricartierbresson.org and you will be oriented towards galleries. The Fondation HCB offers a complementary expert-run print verification service as well as official certificates of authenticity.

Does the Foundation buy work by other artists ?
No, save in exceptional cases.

Henri Cartier-Bresson, Paris, France, 1992 © Martine Franck / Magnum Photos

FAQ

LA FONDATION

Comment la Fondation est-elle financée ?
La Fondation HCB est une fondation reconnue d’utilité publique mais financée de façon privée. Pour mener à bien sa mission, la Fondation doit donc trouver des partenaires qui lui permettront une restauration parfaite de son fonds et la présentation d’expositions de qualité accompagnées de catalogues.

Le fonds est-il accessible aux chercheurs ? Comment s’y prendre ?
Pour les recherches très précises sur des documents introuvables ailleurs, il faut prendre rendez-vous avec les archives de la Fondation. Sinon, une grande partie des archives d’Henri Cartier-Bresson et de Martine Franck est numérisée et accessible sur le site de Magnum Photos : www.magnumphotos.com

Y a-t-il d’autres musées dans le quartier de la Fondation ?
Oui : au cœur du Marais, vous pouvez visiter le Musée Picasso, le Centre Pompidou, le Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature, le Musée d’Art et d’Histoire du Judaïsme, le Musée Cognacq-Jay, les Archives Nationales, la Maison Européenne de la Photographie (liste non-exhaustive).

Y a t il des produits dérivés de l’œuvre d’HCB ou de Martine Franck?
Ils s’opposaient à l’utilisation de leur nom à des fins commerciales. Cependant, il existe des livres, des cartes postales et des magnets.

 

HENRI CARTIER-BRESSON

Quel est le lien entre HCB et Magnum Photos ?
Henri Cartier-Bresson a créé Magnum Photos en 1947, avec Robert Capa, David Seymour (dit Chim) and George Rodger. Il s’est retiré de l’agence en 1965 mais ses archives sont toujours exploitées par Magnum Photos. Vous pouvez consulter les archives d’Henri Cartier-Bresson sur le site de Magnum Photos: www.magnumphotos.com

Quelles œuvres de HCB et de Martine Franck sont visibles à la Fondation?
Les oeuvres de la collection ne sont pas toujours exposées à la Fondation. La Fondation exploite son fonds pour des expositions temporaires consacrées au travail d’HCB et de Martine Franck. Pour de plus amples informations, vous pouvez vous référer au programme de la Fondation sur ce site.

 

LE PRIX HCB

La Fondation donne-t-elle des subventions?
Tous les deux ans, la Fondation attribue le Prix Henri-Cartier Bresson à un(e) photographe. Le Prix HCB est doté de 35 000€. La Fondation d’entreprise Hermès est le mécène du Prix HCB.

Comment candidater pour le Prix?
En complétant le dossier de candidature (téléchargeable sur le site).

 

TIRAGES ET UTILISATION DES IMAGES D’HCB ET DE MARTINE FRANCK

Comment faire pour utiliser les photos ou les films d’HCB et de Martine Franck?
Pour toute utilisation, contactez : www.magnumphotos.com

La Fondation vend-elle des œuvres d’HCB ou de Martine Franck?
Où acheter un tirage signé d’HCB ou de Martine Franck?
La Fondation ne vend pas d’œuvres d’Henri Cartier-Bresson ou de Martine Franck. Toutefois, si vous désirez acquérir un tirage d’HCB ou de Martine Franck, envoyez un mail à aude.raimbault@henricartierbresson.org et nous vous orienterons vers les galeries. Un programme d’authentification de tirages d’Henri Cartier-Bresson et Martine Franck est par ailleurs proposé par la Fondation.

La Fondation achète-t-elle des œuvres d’autres artistes ?
Non, sauf cas exceptionnel.