Toutes les Expositions
Allée du Prado, Marseille, 1932 ©Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Hyères, 1932 ©Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos

Henri Cartier-Bresson

En France (1926-1938)

du February 26 au June 2, 2019

Exhibition

For the first exhibition in the gallery dedicated to its Collections, the Fondation HCB is showcasing one of the most substantial parts of Henri Cartier-Bresson’s work: France.

This first opus, dedicated to the 1930s, reveals the complete carefreeness, spontaneity and freedom then enjoyed by the young man, trained in drawing and literature. Then, come his first steps towards political commitment in a country undergoing profound change, marked by the workers’ movement and the victory of the Popular Front on June 14, 1936.

In the throes of social tension, workers joined forces under the name “APO” (Amateurs Photographes Ouvriers), and used Leica cameras to cover the proletarian movement. The group received the support of the AEAR (Association des écrivains et artistes révolutionnaires), of which Henri Cartier-Bresson was a member. He supported and was actively involved in this turning point which marked the emergence of documentary and social photography.

It was in this French cultural crucible that Henri Cartier-Bresson discovered and experimented with photography, gradually developing a style of his very own, that of l’imaginaire d’après nature (imagination from nature). Parallel to his extensive travels (Italy, Spain, Mexico), he developed a strong interest in film-making, which he experimented, in particular, with Jean Renoir. This art did not bring him as much excitement as he had hoped, and he decided to focus solely on photography.

The company of the Surrealists, learning painting with André Lhote, his curiosity for a mutating society and his commitment all contributed to forging the spirit of this man who stated: “photography is halfway between the art of a pickpocket and that of a funambulist”.

Exhibition curators

Aude Raimbault, Head of Collections
Agnès Sire, Artistic director

Toutes les Expositions
Allée du Prado, Marseille, 1932 ©Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Hyères, 1932 ©Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos

Henri Cartier-Bresson, En France (1926-1938)

du 26 février au 2 juin 2019

Exposition

Pour la première exposition dans la galerie dédiée à ses Collections, la Fondation HCB propose le parcours de l’un des pans les plus conséquents de l’œuvre d’Henri Cartier-Bresson : la France. Ce premier opus consacré aux années 30 révèle toute l’insouciance, la spontanéité, la liberté dont jouissait alors le jeune homme, formé au dessin et à la littérature. Puis vinrent les premiers pas vers l’engagement dans un pays en pleine mutation, marqué par le mouvement ouvrier et la victoire du Front Populaire le 14 juin 1936.

En pleines crispations sociales, des ouvriers se regroupent sous le sigle « APO » (Amateurs Photographes Ouvriers), et couvrent le mouvement prolétarien à l’aide d’appareils photos Leica. Le collectif reçoit le soutien de l’AEAR (Association des écrivains et artistes révolutionnaires) dont fait partie Henri Cartier-Bresson. Il assiste et participe activement à cette période charnière qui voit l’émergence de la photographie documentaire et sociale.

C’est en France, véritable creuset, qu’Henri Cartier- Bresson découvre et expérimente la photographie, et affirme au fil du temps un style qui lui est propre, celui de l’imaginaire d’après nature. Parallèlement à ses nombreux voyages (Italie, Espagne, Mexique), il manifeste un fort intérêt pour le cinéma qu’il expérimente notamment auprès de Jean Renoir. Cette pratique ne lui apporte finalement pas l’excitation attendue, et il décide alors de se consacrer pleinement à la photographie.

La fréquentation des surréalistes, l’apprentissage de la peinture chez André Lhote mais aussi la curiosité pour l’évolution de la société et l’engagement sont autant d’éléments qui vont forger l’esprit de celui qui affirmait : « la photographie se situe à mi-chemin entre le jeu du pickpocket et celui du funambule ».

La présentation de l’exposition bénéficie du soutien de Gutenberg Agency.