Toutes les Expositions
Trieste, Italy, 1933 © Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Barrio Chino, Barcelona, Spain, 1933 © Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos

Henri Cartier-Bresson – Pérégrination, Europe (1930-1933)

du June 18 au September 29, 2019

Exhibition

Increasingly sensitive to the photographic medium, Henri Cartier‑Bresson, then aged about twenty, decided to go travelling around Europe. He and his friend, the writer André Pieyre de Mandiargues, set off in an old second-hand Buick on a long trip with two vast stages. This was the start of a real peregrination, not for the purposes of photographic reportage but a carefree, leisurely discovery of neighbouring countries; nothing is more alien to Henri Cartier-Bresson than the idea of « passing through ».

In 1931, Henri Cartier-Bresson and André Pieyre de Mandiargues chose Northern and Eastern Europe, crossing Belgium, Germany, Poland, Hungary and Czechoslovakia. The young Cartier‑Bresson, still driven by this carefree desire for freedom, continued his photographic experiences. Armed with the Krauss camera he had bought second hand before his trip to Africa the previous year and a wooden glass plate camera, he mostly took rather static shots of flea markets, ghettos and shop fronts. Finding that these cameras were too burdensome for travelling and allowed too much light to filter in, he then gave up this photographic technique and on his return to France, he bought a Leica which never left his side.

After a year spent wandering between Paris and Marseille, the two friends hit the road again in 1933, accompanied by Leonor Fini. This time, the three chose Italy then Spain; a three-month perambulation that saw a lot of frayed tempers and intellectual differences that faded with time.

With Italy (and the Leica), we see a wider, often contemplative field, sleeping bodies, landscapes crushed by light and an unquestionable attraction for lines. The trip to Spain seems to pass in the same spirit but marks a stage in Cartier‑Bresson’s professional career. During this trip, he got his first exhibition at Club Ateneo in Madrid, had his first sales of prints thanks to a solo exhibition at the Julien Levy Gallery (New York) and did his first photographic commission on the Spanish elections for VU magazine; this led to a publication in three episodes. Henri Cartier‑Bresson became thus aware of the violence of his photographic act, its pickpocket aspect. This turning point marks the beginnings of a brilliant career.

André Pieyre de Mandiargues wrote later: “Whenever I see Henri Cartier-Bresson today, I am always reminded of 1930, 1931 and the years that followed, when, in the course of car journeys all over Europe, and strolls in Paris, I witnessed the emergence of the greatest photographer of modern time.

The exhibition is presented with the support of the Gutenberg Agency.

Toutes les Expositions
Trieste, Italie, 1933 © Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Barrio Chino, Barcelone, Espagne, 1933 © Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos

Henri Cartier-Bresson – Pérégrination, Europe (1930-1933)

du 18 juin au 29 septembre 2019

Exposition

De plus en plus sensible au médium photographique, Henri Cartier‑Bresson, alors âgé d’une vingtaine d’années, décide de partir déambuler en Europe. Accompagné de son ami l’écrivain André Pieyre de Mandiargues, il part en voiture­, une vieille Buick d’occasion, pour un périple en deux vastes étapes. Commence alors une véritable pérégrination dont le but n’est pas le reportage photographique mais une flânerie insouciante à la découverte des pays voisins ; rien n’est plus étranger à Henri Cartier‑Bresson que l’idée de « passer » quelque part.

En 1931, Henri Cartier‑Bresson et André Pieyre de Mandiargues, optent pour l’Europe du Nord et de l’Est ; ils traversent la Belgique, l’Allemagne, la Pologne et la Hongrie. Le jeune Cartier‑Bresson, toujours animé par cette insouciance éprise de liberté, poursuit ses expériences photographiques. Muni de l’appareil Krauss qu’il avait acheté d’occasion avant son voyage en Afrique l’année précédente et d’un appareil en bois à plaques de verre, il réalise essentiellement des prises de vue de marchés aux puces, de ghettos, de façade de boutiques plutôt statiques. Trop contraignant pour voyager et laissant trop filtrer la lumière, il abandonne ensuite cette technique photographique et achète dès son retour en France un Leica qui ne le quittera plus.

Après une année passée à vagabonder entre Paris et Marseille, les deux amis reprennent la route en 1933, accompagnés de Leonor Fini. Les trois complices vont cette fois choisir l’Italie puis l’Espagne ; un voyage de trois mois qui verra de nombreuses fâcheries et désaccords intellectuels qui s’effaceront avec le temps.

Avec l’Italie (et le Leica), on observe un champ plus vaste, souvent contemplatif, des corps endormis, des paysages écrasés de lumière, l’attirance incontestable pour les lignes. Le voyage en Espagne semble se dérouler dans le même esprit mais marque une étape dans la carrière professionnelle de Cartier‑Bresson. Lors d’un second séjour en novembre de la même année, il décroche sa première exposition au Club Ateneo à Madrid, connait ses premières ventes de tirages grâce à une exposition personnelle à la Galerie Julien Levy (New York), et réalise sa première commande photographique sur les élections en Espagne pour le magazine VU ; en résulte une publication en trois épisodes. Henri Cartier-Bresson prend alors conscience de la violence de son acte photographique, de son côté pickpocket. Cette période charnière marque les prémices d’une carrière brillante.

André Pieyre de Mandiargues écrira plus tard : « Aujourd’hui, je ne me retrouve jamais en face d’Henri Cartier‑Bresson sans penser à ces années 1930, 1931 et suivantes où, au cours de nos voyages en voiture dans toute l’Eu­rope ou de nos divagations dans Paris, j’ai vu naître le plus grand photographe des temps modernes. »

La présentation de l’exposition bénéficie du soutien de Gutenberg Agency.