Toutes les Expositions
Untitled, circa 1970 © Armelle Dłubak / Archeology of Photography Foundation, Warsaw
Untitled, circa 1946 © Armelle Dłubak/Archeology of Photography Foundation, Warsaw
Untitled, circa 1950 © Armelle Dłubak
Désymbolisations, 1978 © Armelle Dłubak / Archeology of Photography Foundation, Varsovie

Zbigniew Dłubak

Heir of the avant-garde

du January 17 au April 29, 2018

The Zbigniew Dłubak – Heir of the avant-garde exhibition is being held at the Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson between January 17 and April 29, 2018.

In the post-war period, Zbigniew Dłubak (1921-2005) was one of the driving forces behind the profound changes in the Polish artistic scene. A great experimenter of photographic forms, he was also a painter, art theoretician, teacher and editor of the Fotografia magazine for twenty years, introducing into this publication a robust photographic critique and interdisciplinary approach to the medium. He enjoyed a certain notoriety in Poland during his lifetime. Several monographic exhibitions were dedicated to him and some of his major works are part of Polish public collections.

Although Dłubak was primarily known as a photographer, he initially aspired to become a painter, tirelessly searching for materials for drawing during the war. Very active in these two traditionally separate disciplines, he greatly influenced the decompartmentalisation of artistic forms. He also defended the right of photography to exist as a completely separate discipline.

Curated by Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska, a specialist in Dłubak’s work, the exhibition is accompanied by a book published by Éditions Xavier Barral under the direction of Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska, which includes a wide selection of images, an essay by Éric de Chassey and an introduction as well as seven texts by the curator. The exhibition is being organised in collaboration with the Fundacja Archaeologia Fotografii in Warsaw, where the artist’s archives are kept.
The exhibition benefits from the support of the Polish Institute in Paris and the Adam Mickiewicz Institute operating under the Culture.pl brand within the international cultural programme POLSKA 100 accompanying Poland’s centenary of regaining independence. Financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland as part of the Multi-annual Programme NIEPODLEGŁA 2017-2021.

Logo logo gris

logo_pl_monochrom_czarnyLOGO IAM-CULTURE 2016 EN grayMKiDN_logoeng-mono

In partnership with

Sans titre circa 1970 © Armelle Dłubak / Archeology of Photography Foundation, Varsovie
Sans titre, vers 1946 © Armelle Dłubak / Archeology of Photography Foundation, Varsovie
Sans titre, vers 1950 © Armelle Dłubak
Tautologies, 1971 © Armelle Dłubak / Archeology of Photography

Zbigniew Dłubak

Héritier des avant-gardes

du 17 janvier au 29 avril 2018

Du 17 janvier au 29 avril 2018, la Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson présente Zbigniew Dłubak – Héritier des avant-gardes.

Zbigniew Dłubak (1921-2005) a été, après-guerre, l’un des acteurs du profond changement de la scène artistique polonaise. Grand expérimentateur des formes photographiques, il fut également peintre, théoricien de l’art, enseignant et éditeur de la revue Fotografia pendant plus de vingt ans. Il y a introduit une critique photographique solide et une manière interdisciplinaire de penser le medium. Il jouissait, en Pologne, d’une certaine notoriété de son vivant. Plusieurs expositions monographiques lui furent consacrées, et ses œuvres majeures sont représentées dans les collections publiques polonaises.

Si Dłubak se fit d’abord connaître en tant que photographe, il aspirait initialement à devenir peintre, sans cesse à la recherche de matériaux pour dessiner durant la guerre. Très actif dans ces deux domaines traditionnellement séparés il a beaucoup influencé le décloisonnement des formes artistiques. Il défendait également le droit de la photographie à exister en tant que discipline à part entière.

Le commissariat de l’exposition est assuré par Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska, spécialiste de l’œuvre de Dłubak. L’exposition est accompagnée d’un ouvrage publié aux Éditions Xavier Barral sous la direction de Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska et qui propose une sélection d’images élargie, un essai d’Éric de Chassey ainsi qu’une introduction et sept textes de la commissaire. L’exposition est organisée en collaboration avec la Fondation Archeologia Fotografii de Varsovie qui détient les archives de l’artiste.

L’exposition bénéficie du soutien de l’Institut Polonais de Paris et de l’Institut Adam Mickiewicz, sous le label « Culture.pl », dans le cadre du programme international POLSKA 100 qui accompagne le centenaire de l’indépendance de la Pologne. POLSKA 100 fait partie du programme Niepodległa, financé par le ministère de la Culture et du Patrimoine national de la République de Pologne.

Logo logo gris

logo_pl_monochrom_czarnyLOGO IAM-CULTURE 2016 EN grayMKiDN_logoeng-mono

Partenaires media