All the Exhibitions
Back with Arms Above, 1984 © The John Coplans Trust

John Coplans

La vie des formes

October 5, 2021 - January 16, 2022

Exhibition

Fondation HCB is presenting a remarkable exhibition on the œuvre of John Coplans (1920‑2003), in collaboration with Le Point du Jour, Centre d’Art Éditeur in Cherbourg-en-Cotentin. Works on show here, on loan from French collections, testify to the audacity of this British artist, known for uncompromising representations of his body.

Coplans, who emigrated to the United States at the start of the 1960s, was at first painter, art critic, museum director and curator before devoting himself fully to photography in the early 1980s. At sixty years old, after twenty years of promoting the work of other artists, he retired to take up a life in art. He then developed a photography practice in which he represented himself nude, in black and white and often fragmented, his head always out of frame. To all these images, produced between 1984 and 2002, he attributed the generic title Self Portrait; descriptive titles and subtitles specify the body part depicted or the posture.

As a primary, unique and impersonal object, the body is a medium for jubilant, ever-renewed explorations of the life of form. Coplans’ work, often reductively seen as a representation of the aging body, has lighter, more universal ambitions and inscribes in a long history of art forms through its metaphorical connections to nature or sculpture. His œuvre redefines the meaning of age, no longer a progression towards the end of life, instead, an opportunity for a long-term record of humankind and an initiative for recollecting primitive forms.   

The absence of the face, and the choice of the fragment as plastic element released a flood of inventions and formal analogies that seemed inexhaustible, only stopping with the artist’s passing. Coplans’ images are by turns subdued and explosive, funny, provocative and always carefully considered. They answer to a demand for clarity that transfigures expressionist pathos.

The exhibition La Vie des Formes is structured in three sets presented chronologically. First, small prints made at the start of Coplans’ career in photography (Torso, Back, Hands, Feet…); followed by, in 1988, large formats and montage combining several body fragments to create a single but disjointed image; and finally, as a great connoisseur of art history, Coplans integrated research on artists he studied, exhibited and knew into his own work, and a selection of works by these artists (Brancusi, Carleton Watkins, Walker Evans, Lee Friedlander, Jan Groover, Weegee…) is presented.

Curation
Jean-François Chevrier and Élia Pijollet

Biography

John Coplans was born in London in 1920. The son of a doctor in medicine and art amateur, he spent most of his childhood between London and South Africa. In 1937, aware of the global danger posed by Nazi Germany, he joined the British army. He fought until 1945 in East Africa, then in India and Burma.

In 1946, John Coplans started an art degree but quickly gave up. He moved to London. For ten years or so, he has painted and contributed to the rise of abstract art, in the wake of lyrical abstraction, then Hard Edge. In 1960, Coplans emigrated to the United States and moved in San Francisco. In 1962, he participated in the creation of Artforum. The magazine quickly established itself as a monthly reference for art and creative news. The first of its kind on the West Coast, it supported and united artists, helping to bring out the “Los Angeles scene” and “West Coast art”. Coplans was its editor from 1971 to 1977 (in New York, where the magazine moved in 1967).

John Coplans was also a curator, director of the Art Gallery of the University of California at Irvine (1965‑1967) and Senior Curator of the Pasadena Art Museum in (1967-1970). From 1978 to 1980, he directed the Akron Art Museum, Ohio. At this time, he began his first photographic experiments.

In 1980, he decided to cease these activities to become an artist again and to devote himself to photography. He moved to New York. From 1985 onwards, he exhibited regularly in France and Europe. In 1988, the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) set up the first major exhibition of the photographer, which was then presented at the MoMA in New York the same year. John Coplans died in New York on August 21, 2003.

Coproduction
The exhibition is coproduced with Le Point du Jour in Cherbourg-en-Cotentin. It will be shown from January 29 to May 15, 2022.

Warning: some of the exhibition’s images may offend the sensibilities of young visitors.

Toutes les Expositions
Back with Arms Above, 1984 © The John Coplans Trust

John Coplans

La vie des formes

du 5 octobre 2021 au 16 janvier 2022

Exposition

 

La Fondation HCB présente une exposition exceptionnelle de l’œuvre de John Coplans (1920‑2003), en collaboration avec Le Point du Jour, centre d’art éditeur à Cherbourg-en-Cotentin. Les œuvres exposées, issues de collections françaises, témoignent de l’audace de l’artiste britannique, célèbre pour la représentation, sans concession, de son propre corps.

Émigrant aux États-Unis au début des années 1960, John Coplans a d’abord été peintre, critique d’art, directeur de musées et commissaire d’expositions, avant de se consacrer pleinement à la photographie au début des années 1980. C’est à l’âge de soixante ans, après s’être employé pendant vingt ans à promouvoir l’œuvre d’autres artistes, qu’il se retire pour renouer avec l’expérience de la création. Il développe alors une pratique photographique où il représente son corps nu, en noir et blanc, souvent fragmenté, la tête toujours hors-champ. Il désigne toutes ces images réalisées entre 1984 et 2002 par l’intitulé générique Self Portrait ; titres et sous-titres descriptifs spécifient la partie du corps représentée ou la posture.

Objet premier, singulier et impersonnel, le corps est le support d’une exploration jubilatoire, sans cesse renouvelée, de la vie des formes. Souvent réduite à la représentation du corps vieilli, l’œuvre de Coplans répond à une visée plus ludique et universelle, inscrite dans une histoire longue des formes artistiques par le jeu de relations métaphoriques à la nature ou à la sculpture. Elle redéfinit le sens même de l’âge – non comme une progression vers la fin de vie, mais plutôt comme l’occasion d’une inscription dans la longue durée de l’espèce humaine et d’une entreprise de remémoration des formes primitives.

L’absence du visage et le choix du fragment comme élément plastique ont libéré un flux d’inventions et d’analogies formelles qui semblait inépuisable et n’a cessé qu’avec la disparition de l’artiste. Les images de Coplans sont tour à tour contenues et explosives, drôles, provocantes, toujours soigneusement méditées. Elles répondent à une exigence de clarté qui transfigure le pathos expressionniste.

L’exposition La vie des formes s’articule autour de trois ensembles. Aux petits tirages réalisés au début de la carrière photographique de Coplans (Torses, Dos, Mains, Pieds…) succèdent, en 1988, les grands formats et les montages combinant plusieurs fragments de corps pour constituer une image unique mais disjointe. Fin connaisseur de l’histoire des arts, Coplans a intégré à sa propre expérience les recherches d’artistes qu’il a étudiés, exposés ou côtoyés, tels que Carleton Watkins, Constantin Brancusi, Walker Evans, Lee Friedlander, Jan Groover, Philip Guston ou Weegee ; une sélection d’œuvres est présentée dans l’exposition.

Commissariat
Jean-François Chevrier et Élia Pijollet

Biographie

John Coplans naît à Londres en 1920. Fils d’un médecin amateur d’art, il passe une partie de son enfance entre Londres et l’Afrique du Sud. Dès 1937, sensibilisé au danger global que représente l’Allemagne nazie, il s’engage dans l’armée britannique. Il combat jusqu’en 1945, en Afrique de l’Est puis en Inde et en Birmanie.

En 1946, John Coplans commence des études artistiques mais y renonce rapidement. Il s’installe à Londres. Pendant une dizaine d’années, il peint et contribue à l’essor de l’art abstrait, dans la mouvance de l’abstraction lyrique, puis de l’Hard Edge. En 1960, Coplans émigre aux États-Unis et s’installe à San Francisco. En 1962, il participe à la création d’Artforum. Le magazine s’impose rapidement comme un mensuel de référence pour l’actualité de l’art et de la création. Premier du genre sur la Côte ouest, il soutient et fédère les artistes, contribuant à faire émerger la « scène de Los Angeles » et « l’art de la Côte ouest ». Coplans en fut le rédacteur en chef de 1971 à 1977 (à New York, où la revue s’est déplacée en 1967).

John Coplans fut également commissaire d’expositions, directeur de l’Art Gallery de l’Université de Californie à Irvine (1965-1967) et Senior Curator du Pasadena Art Museum (1967‑1970). De 1978 à 1980, il dirigea le Akron Art Institute (Ohio). C’est à cette époque qu’il mena ses premières expérimentations photographiques.

En 1980, il décide de cesser ces activités pour redevenir artiste et se consacrer à la photographie. Il s’installe à New York. Dès 1985, il expose régulièrement en France et en Europe. En 1988, le San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) organise la première exposition majeure du photographe, présentée au Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) de New York la même année. John Coplans est mort à New York le 21 août 2003.

Coproduction
L’exposition est coproduite avec Le Point du Jour à Cherbourg-en-Cotentin. Elle y sera présentée du 29 janvier au 15 mai 2022.

Avertissement : certaines images de l’exposition peuvent heurter la sensibilité du jeune public.