Toutes les Expositions
Dahlak Islands, Eritrea, 1995
Dahlak Islands, Eritrea, 1995
Glasgow, Scotland, 1980
Glasgow, Scotland, 1980
Park Avenue, New York, 1981
Park Avenue, New York, 1981
Métro Avenue du Président-Kennedy, Paris 16th arrondissement, 1997
Métro Avenue du Président-Kennedy, Paris 16th arrondissement, 1997

Raymond Depardon

Traverser

du September 13 au December 24, 2017

From 13 September to 24 December 2017, the Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson will be presenting Traverser by Raymond Depardon.

Writer, photographer and director, he seems to be able to do it all. This exhibition hinges on four main themes: La terre natale [homeland] in dialogue with Le voyage [journey] then La douleur [pain] in dialogue with L’enfermement [confinement]. With writing as the Ariadne’s thread, this exhibition invites on a journey through the artist’s work from his beginnings at Le Garet Farm until today.

With Depardon, writing and film offer two very different temporalities: writing is primarily listening to yourself, daring to impose your own rhythm faced with what comes along, the famous “absences” of the photographer. Film is primarily about listening to someone else, the silence of the cameraman. Avoiding the rhetoric of compassion which has never appealed to him, creating slightly ordinary, calm images, without any particular eloquence, but full of emotion; a clear agenda that leads him alternately into intentional wandering and/or the decisive production of an archive to be passed on.

The exhibition includes about one hundred prints, texts, films and documents by the author. The book, co‑published with Éditions Xavier Barral, offers a more extensive selection of images, as well as a long hitherto unpublished interview with Agnès Sire, curator of the exhibition.

SPECIAL TICKETS & OFFERS

  Discover Raymond Depardon photographs in the exhibition  “Un paysage français – une aventure photographique (1984 – 2017)” at the Bibliothèque nationale de France, site François Mitterrand, from October 24 octobre to February 4, 2018.
Combined no-queue tickets BnF/FHCB  with the exhibition “Paysages français” at Bibliothèque nationale de France (on sale at both institutions) : 13 €

Logo_BnF-300x158 copie

  during the exhibition Raymond Depardon – Traverser, for each full-price ticket at the Foundation, the visitor can get a reduced-price ticket for the exhibition L’Europe autrement which includes the series The Europeans by Henri Cartier-Bresson at l’atelier néerlandais (September 21 septembre to December 17, 2017 – 121 rue de Lille, 75007 Paris).

logo

In partnership with

Tribute to Johnny Hallyday

Screening of photographs by Raymond Depardon on the Fondation HCB third floor

Toutes les Expositions
Mauritanie, entre Oualata et Néma, 1986 © Raymond Depardon / Magnum Photos
Park Avenue, New York, 1981 © Raymond Depardon / Magnum Photos
Glasgow, Écosse, 1980 © Raymond Depardon / Magnum Photos
Métro Avenue du Président-Kennedy, Paris 16e arrondissement, 1997 © Raymond Depardon / Magnum Photos

Raymond Depardon

Traverser

du 13 septembre au 17 décembre 2017

Du 13 septembre au 17 décembre 2017, La Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson présente l’exposition Traverser de Raymond Depardon. 

Écrivain, photographe et réalisateur, l’homme semble sans limites. Cette exposition s’articule autour de quatre axes : La terre natale en dialogue avec Le voyage puis La douleur en dialogue avec L’enfermement. Avec l’écriture comme fil d’Ariane, cette exposition invite à une traversée de l’œuvre de l’artiste depuis ses premiers pas à la ferme du Garet jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Chez Depardon, l’écriture et le cinéma offrent deux temporalités très différentes : l’écriture, c’est d’abord l’écoute de soi, oser imposer son propre rythme face à ce qui se présente, les fameuses « absences » du photographe. Le cinéma, c’est d’abord l’écoute de l’autre, le silence du cadreur. Éviter la rhétorique de la compassion qui ne l’a jamais séduit, faire des images un peu banales, calmes, sans éloquence particulière, mais chargées de sentiment, voilà un programme clair qui le conduira alternativement dans l’errance volontaire et/ou dans la production déterminée d’une archive à transmettre.

L’exposition présente une centaine de tirages, textes, film et documents de l’auteur. L’ouvrage, co-publié avec les Éditions Xavier Barral, propose une sélection plus vaste d’images, ainsi qu’un long entretien inédit de l’auteur avec Agnès Sire, commissaire de l’exposition.

 

 

OFFRES & TARIFS SPÉCIAUX

  Retrouvez Raymond Depardon dans l’exposition « Un paysage français – une aventure photographique (1984 – 2017) » à la Bibliothèque nationale de France, site François Mitterrand, du 24 octobre au 4 février 2018.
Billet jumelé coupe-file BnF et FHCB en vente aux caisses de la Fondation HCB et de la BnF: 13 €

Logo_BnF-300x158 copie

 

  Pendant la durée de l’exposition Raymond Depardon – Traverser, chaque billet acheté en tarif plein à la Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson donne lieu à un tarif réduit pour l’exposition L’Europe autrement qui présente la série Les Européens d’Henri Cartier-Bresson à l’atelier néerlandais (exposition présentée du 21 septembre au 17 décembre 2017 au 121 rue de Lille, 75007 Paris).

logo

 

 

Partenaires media