Toutes les Expositions
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), cover © Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), cover © Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), p. 25-26, Italy, 1933 © Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), p. 25-26, Italy, 1933 © Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), p. 27-28, Seville, Spain, 1933 © Henri Cartier-Bresson/Magnum Photos
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), p. 27-28, Seville, Spain, 1933 © Henri Cartier-Bresson/Magnum Photos

Henri Cartier-Bresson

Images à la Sauvette

du January 11 au April 23, 2017

« Magazines end up wrapping french fries, while books remain. » Henri Cartier-Bresson

From January 11 to April 23, 2017, the Foundation devotes an exhibition to Cartier-Bresson’s famous publication Images à la Sauvette. Initated by the French publisher Tériade, the project is finally achieved on October 1952 as a French-American co-edition, with the contribution of Matisse and the American publishers Simon and Schuster. The latter chose “The Decisive Moment” as the title of the American version, and unintentionally imposed the motto which would define Cartier-Bresson’s work. Since its publication in 1952, Images à la Sauvette has received an overwhelming success. It is considered as “a Bible for photographers” according to Robert Capa’s words. The innovative design of the publication stroke the art world with its refine format, the heliogravure quality and the strength of the image sequences. The publication reveals the inherent duality of Cartier-Bresson’s work; between the photographer’s intimate interpretation and his documentary approach.

Images à la Sauvette is the fruit of joined efforts of a famous art publisher, Tériade, a talented photographer, a painter at the peak of his career, Matisse, and two American publishers, Simon and Schuster. From his beginnings, Cartier‑Bresson considers the book as the outcome of his work. In the thirties, he met the publisher of Verve, Tériade, who he would later likely acknowledge to be his mentor. They plan, at the time, to carry out a book project on large cities rough areas together with Eli Lotar, Bill Brandt and Brassaï, but this ambitious project will never see the light of day.

Images à la Sauvette established itself as an extremely pioneering work by its wish to claim the images strength as the unique narrative form and the emphasis on the photographer text. It proposes a daring purity, allowing the 24 x 36 to spread out on its very large format pages. A model of its kind with the heliogravure printing by the best craftsmen of the era, the Draeger brothers, and the splendid Matisse cover has been called “A bible for photographers” by Robert Capa. In Spring 1951, Cartier-Bresson explains, “While our prints are beautiful and perfectly composed (as they should be), they are not photographs for salons […] In the end, our final image is the printed one”. This affirmation definitely proclaims Images à la Sauvette as an artist’s book.

The exhibition presents a selection of vintage prints as well as numerous archival documents to recount the history of this publication, until its facsimile reprint by Steidl Verlag, in 2014. This edition comes with an additional booklet containing an essay by Clément Chéroux.

The exhibition "Images à la Sauvette" participates to Mois de la Photo du Grand Paris 2017

In partnership with

Toutes les Expositions
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images a la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), couverture © Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images a la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), couverture © Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), p. 25-26, Italie, 1933 © Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), p. 25-26, Italie, 1933 © Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), p. 27-28, Seville, Espagne, 1933 © Henri Cartier-Bresson/Magnum Photos
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette (Verve, 1952), p. 27-28, Seville, Espagne, 1933 © Henri Cartier-Bresson/Magnum Photos

Henri Cartier-Bresson

Images à la Sauvette

du 11 janvier au 23 avril 2017

« Les magazines finissent par faire des cornets à frites. Les livres demeurent. » Henri Cartier-Bresson

Du 11 janvier au 23 avril 2017, la Fondation consacre une exposition au célèbre ouvrage de Cartier-Bresson, Images à la Sauvette. Le projet, à l’initiative de l’éditeur Tériade, voit le jour en octobre 1952 dans le cadre d’une co-édition franco-américaine avec le concours de Matisse et les éditeurs Simon and Schuster.  Sans le savoir, ces derniers allaient imposer la formule « The Decisive Moment », version américaine du titre du livre, comme raccourci de l’œuvre du photographe. Dès sa parution en 1952, Images à la Sauvette eut un succès retentissant dans le monde des arts, considérée comme une « bible pour les photographes » selon les mots de Robert Capa. Sa maquette épurée, la qualité de l’héliogravure et la force des images font de ce livre d’artiste une œuvre novatrice pour l’époque. L’ouvrage révèle la dualité inhérente à l’œuvre de Cartier-Bresson entre interprétation intime et observation documentaire.

Images à la Sauvette est le fruit des travaux réunis du fameux éditeur d’art, Tériade, d’un photographe talentueux, d’un peintre à l’apogée de sa carrière, Matisse, et deux éditeurs américains, Simon and Schuster.  Dès ses débuts, Cartier-Bresson envisage le livre comme un aboutissement de son travail. Dans les années trente, il rencontre Tériade, créateur de Verve, qu’il qualifiera plus tard comme son « maître à penser ». Ils projettent de réaliser ensemble un livre sur les bas-fonds des grandes villes avec Eli Lotar, Bill Brandt et Brassaï, mais cet ambitieux projet ne verra pas le jour. 

La volonté d’imposer la force des images comme unique forme de récit et la place accordée au texte du photographe font d’Images à la Sauvette une œuvre extrêmement novatrice. De très grand format, l’ouvrage propose une maquette d’une pureté audacieuse, qui permet au 24 x 36 de se déployer pleinement. L’impression en héliogravure, par les meilleurs artisans de l’époque, les frères Draeger et la spectaculaire couverture de Matisse en font un modèle du genre. Au printemps 1951, Cartier-Bresson explique : « Si nos épreuves sont belles et parfaitement composées (et elles doivent l’être) ce ne sont pas pour autant des photos de salons […] En somme, notre image finale, c’est celle imprimée ». Cette affirmation positionne clairement Images à la Sauvette comme un livre d’artiste.

L’exposition présente une sélection de tirages d’époque ainsi que de nombreux documents d’archive liés à l’aventure de cet ouvrage, jusqu’à sa réédition récente en fac-similé par les Éditions Steidl. Cette réédition est accompagnée d’un livret avec un essai de Clément Chéroux sur l’histoire de l’ouvrage.

L’exposition "Images à la Sauvette" participe au Mois de la Photo du Grand Paris 2017

En partenariat avec